top of page

Durham Bowes - Richmond

The building, also known as Dight's Farm, is an early Colonial Georgian homestead built from 1804 to 1870 by Lewis Jones and James Vincent.

​

The original two-roomed sandstock brick cottage with mud/shell mortar and plaster has a corrugated iron roof, central chimney and original joinery and dates from c. 1804. The original kitchen with a large fireplace and a bread oven was added pre 1812. This single storey section has brick floors covered by concrete.

The 1812 and 1820s two storey additions are sandstock brick with mud/shell mortar and plaster with a hipped corrugated iron roof and an asymmetrical single-storey verandah with iron roof supported by tapered hardwood octagonal columns over Marulan stone flagging. Internal joinery includes a built -in cupboard (1812), cedar chimney pieces and hardwood flooring with handmade nails survive.

Unusual features include a mock chimney on the west end to achieve Georgian symmetry and nine pane sliding sash windows in the upper storey. (NSW Heritage Register)

​

Click here for more fascinating information on 'The Dights of "Durham Bowes"' provided by the current owners.

​

Dight's Farm is private property.

WHAT

Colonial Georgian

WHERE

Richmond, NSW

WHEN

1804

Contact Us

Historic Houses Association of Australia Limited
1A Carthona Avenue, Darling Point,

NSW, 2027 
enquiries@hha.net.au     02 9252 5554

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

Join our mailing list

ABN: 40 282 275 317

© 2020 by Historic Houses Association of Australia Ltd

acnc-logo-768x767.png

The Historic Houses Association of Australia is an independent registered charity.

We rely on income from membership fees, donations, and revenue raised from our ticket sales.

bottom of page